On 1 January 2023 Croatia will join the Schengen area and the Eurozone

Abolition of passport and border controls

Croatia will become the 27th member state to join the Schengen area on 1 January 2023. This means that passport and border controls will no longer apply when crossing the internal borders to the country.

Croatia, an EU member since 2013, will also introduce the common currency, the euro, at the turn of the year.

From January onwards, the Schengen area comprises 23 EU member states as well as Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland.

However, the EU member states could not agree on the Schengen accession of Romania and Bulgaria. The EU Commissioners are still trying to do so and hope that an accession of these countries can be agreed soon.


Source: EU Commission press release of 21.12.2022


Learn more about our consulting services: Consulting services of the IAC

Related Posts


Social security classification

The continuing globalisation of the economy means that companies have to deploy their employees very flexibly – sometimes worldwide. This in return creates a significant challenge not only for the companies but also for their...

Latest blogs on global assignments

Did they come to stay?
18. April 2023
Salary determination for expatriates
12. April 2023
Application of the daily wage tax table – Significantly higher expenses for employees with limited tax liability
12. April 2023
USA: USCIS plans to increase fees
27. February 2023
Travel expenses and travel expense reimbursements for business and work-related trips abroad from 01.01.2023
31. January 2023
LAG Hamburg: Effectiveness of Hypotax Agreements between Employer and Employee
19. January 2023

Get the latest information on "International Personnel Management - assignments worldwide".